College and Faculty Fellows

The Faculty Fellows and College Fellows of St. John’s College are UBC faculty, administration, and staff members who have accepted an invitation to be actively involved in the life of the College. Through service on standing committees, by organizing talks, conferences and colloquia, in mingling with College residents at dinners and social events, our Faculty Fellows play an integral role in the creation of our rich, diverse, international community.

Dr. Joan Anderson, Professor Emerita, School of Nursing

Dr. Gage Averill, Dean, Faculty of Arts, Professor of Music

Dr. Stefania Burk, Associate Dean, Academic in the Faculty of Arts, and Senior Instructor in the Department of Asian Studies

Dr. Helen Burt, Associate Vice President Research & International and Professor, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Dr. Timothy Cheek, Professor, Institute of Asian Research

Dr. Paul Evans, Director and Professor, Institute of Asian Research

Dr. Denise Ferreira da Silva, Director, Institute for Gender, Race, Sexuality and Social Justice

Dr. Candace Galla, Assistant Professor, Language and Literacy Education

Dr. Sathish Gopalakrishnan, Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering

Elder Larry Grant, Elder-in-Residence, First Nations House of Learning; Adjunct Professor, First Nations and Endangered Languages Program

Professor Gu Xiong,Professor, Department of Art History, Visual Art and Theory

Dr. Mark Harris, Visiting Associate Professor, Institute for Gender, Race, Sexuality and Social Justice

Professor Nancy Hermiston, School of Music, Coordinator of the Voice and Opera Divisions and University Marshal, External, Legal and Community Relations

Dr. Vinay Kamat, Associate Professor, Anthropology

Dr. Anna Kindler, Senior Advisor to the Provost, and Professor, Curriculum and Pedagogy

Dr. Pawel Kindler, Sr. Instructor, Department of Cellular and Physiological Sciences

Dr. David Ley, Professor and Head, Department of Geography

Dr. Minelle Mahtani, Associate Professor, Institute for Gender, Race, Sexuality and Social Justice

Dr. Dianne Newell, Professor Emerita, Department of History

Dr. Skip (Arthur) Ray, Professor Emeritus, Department of History

Dr. Christopher Rea, Associate Professor, Asian Studies Department

Dr. Susan Rowley, Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology

Dr. Patricia A. Shaw, Founding Chair, First Nations Language Program and Professor, Department of Anthropology

Dr. Olav Slaymaker, Professor Emeritus, Department of Geography

Dr. Tsur Somerville, Associate Professor, Strategy and Business Economics, Sauder School of Business and Director, Centre for Transportation Studies (CTS)

Dr. Mark Turin, Chair,  First Nations Languages Program and Associate Professor, Anthropology

Dr. Yves Tiberghien, Director of the Institute of Asian Research and Associate Professor, Political Science

Dr. Ilan Vertinsky, Director, FEPA Research Unit and Professor, Strategy and Business Economics/Operations and Logistics

Dr. Patricia Vertinsky, Professor, School of Kinesiology

Dr. Handel K. Wright, Canada Research Chair and Director of Centre for Culture, Identity, & Education

Professor Stephen J. Toope, Past President and Vice-Chancellor, University of British Columbia, 2006-14

Dr. Hugh Brock, Associate-Provost Academic Innovation

Dr. Ainsley Carry, Vice-President, Students

Ms. Eilis Courtney, Director of Ceremonies

Dr. Sara-Jane Finlay, Associate Vice-President, Equity and Inclusion

Andrew Parr, Managing Director, Student Housing and Hospitality Services

Dr. Jenny Phelps, Assistant Dean, Student Admin. & Strategic Initiatives

Ms. Shirley Nakata,  Ombudsperson for Students

Ms. Janine Root, Manager, Campus Initiatives, Development & Alumni Engagement

Ms. Grace Wong, Senior Advisor International, Office of the Provost and VP Academic

Ms. Wendy Yip, UBC Ambassador